And that’s why they call it March Madness!!

It’s my favorite time of the year!  I am a proud alum of Marquette University and University of Michigan, and I have ridden the waves of highs and lows as a sports fan of these schools.

marchmadness

Ten years ago, Marquette made it’s last run to the Final Four of the NCAA Basketball Tournament, which prompted me to learn more about the school and eventually attend college there.  I became a die-hard “Fanatic” of the basketball team, waiting in line for upto 8 hours to get the best seats for home games.  My junior year there, I attended more athletic events than any other student, and won a trip to the Big East Conference basketball tournament at Madison Square Garden in New York City, as well as the first round of the NCAA tournament in Winston-Salem, North Carolina (where they lost REALLY badly).  Since graduating, my husband and I have season tickets for Marquette games, and took a road trip 2 years ago to Cleveland to watch Marquette beat Syracuse to go on to the Sweet Sixteen.

mu

Because of my intense love for Marquette Basketball, I was hesitant to like watching basketball at Michigan.  My 2nd year there, I got a 5 game ticket package for Michigan Basketball and it was so strange be cheering for a team other than Marquette.   I was finally swayed to become a Michigan bball fan during my dietetic internship, when I got to work with the basketball team on their diet and was able to attend team dinners.  This year, I actually have Michigan winning it all in my bracket (I know it’s kind of a long shot!)!  While the freshman that I worked with are now juniors and there are many new faces on the team, I will always have a small place in my heart for Michigan basketball.

michbball

Marquette started off today with a nail-biter of a game, beating Davidson 59-58 at the last second.  While I could do without the heart attacks every game, that’s also what makes March Madness so exciting!  I can’t wait to see how far my teams go!

Leave a Reply

