New Year’s Resolution Update

So at the end of last year, I had brainstormed some goals during my spare time at work to focus on for 2013.  Today, I was flipping through my notebook and came upon the list.  Here’s how things are going so far:

My main goal for the year is to Eat More Like an RD, which I’ve broken down into a few, more specific goals:

  1. Cut out pop:  I’ve met this goal 100%!  At work, I’ve been drinking alot more water.  I had expected it to be much harder to cut pop out complete, but it really hasn’t been a problem.  I definitely have noticed that I don’t feel as bloated or dehydrated.  The main issue I’ve had is at restaurants or bars, where I would have had a diet soda or Rum and Diet Coke, I now tend to order a beer or two instead.  Which leads me to the next goal…
  2. Drink less alcohol:  Overall, I would give myself a “B” on this one.  In general I don’t drink as much as before, and haven’t had enough to feel hungover (which is taking less and less to achieve these days) until this past weekend.  I hate the feeling the morning after you’ve had too much to drink (headache, upset tummy, general blah feeling) and have really appreciated the feeling of waking up refreshed on the weekends due to not drinking more than 2 drinks or not having anything to drink at all.
  3. Cook more at home:  I’ve definitely met this goal!  At first I used Pinterest to find new recipes to try out and have made it part of my weekly routine to meal plan, make a grocery list, and prepare at least dinners at home around 3 times per week.  At the grocery store, I’ve stopped buying frozen convenience foods (pizza, single dinners, pierogis, and gardenburgers).  It has also made it easier to bring lunch from home during the week with all of the leftovers we end up with.
  4. Eat more fruits & vegetables:  This goal I haven’t focused on as much, but as a result of cooking more at home I am definitely eating less processed stuff.  Something to pay more attention to, I guess!

Fitness-wise, my main goal this year is to Run a Half Marathon.  I am happy to say I’ve been following a training program (for the most part) for the past 3.5 months and have my first half marathon this Saturday up in Wisconsin.  So far, 9 miles has been my longest run, so I am getting a little nervous about how the race will go.  My main goal is just to finish, but would really like to finish in under 2 hours and 30 minutes.

My weight goal for this year is to get under 130 lbs (starting weight was 144 lbs on January 1st).  I’ve selected this goal, because I was at this weight during my fittest times during college, and loved the healthy, energetic feeling I experienced at the time from watching what I ate (food journaling) and working out 5-6 days per week.  Since I graduated in 2008, the only time that my weight was below 130 lbs was during my dietetic internship, when I lost alot of weight due to stress…not the healthiest or more sustainable way to go about losing weight!  I can tell a difference in the way clothes are fitting, and the way I look in the mirror, mainly my arms and thighs are looking leaner.  I was 137 lbs when I weighed myself last week, so I’m pretty happy about that and feel happy about the way the weight is coming off as well.

So that is how things are going so far this year…I’ll be thinking about my goals for the summer months and will share those in my next post!

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution Update

  1. These are some great goals. I could see myself incorporating some of these into my life as well. I ran my first half marathon last summer and the longest run I did before it was 9 miles. I was a bit nervous, but I was fine! I finished which was my goal. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

