This week in training….

So far during week one of half marathon training:

Monday:  2.25 mile run at gym’s indoor track.  Went pretty well, but I couldn’t find my iPod 😦 .   Also it’s only 1/10th of a mile, so it got boring really quick!  I did find a cool new music app, though, called Songza.  It’s kind of like Pandora, but has you pick the type of mood you’re in, activities you’re doing, etc., to determine the type of music to play.  For my run I picked eclectic 90’s workout mix and ran to songs like “Whoomp There it Is” and “No Diggity.” Awesome!

Tuesday & Wednesday:  I was hoping to do some elliptical or bike then some strength exercises, but my gym’s fitness center was closed for cleaning.  Instead I did a couple of fitness classes at the gym.  Tuesday was Corebar HIIT…basically you hold a lightweight Corebar and do a variety of cardio and strength exercises with/around the bar.  You wouldn’t think a 3 lb bar would have much of an effect, but I was definitely sore the next day!  On Wednesday, I tried out the Total Body Conditioning class, which has lots of step aerobics and then weights for toning.  I’m not very coordinated or good with keeping count, so it takes me a second to get the hang of the routines with the step, but it’s a fun class!  The instructor also teaches Pilates so she brought some of that into the workout as well.

Thursday & Friday were rest days…Thursday there was supposed to be an adventure run put on by a running store near my office, but it got moved to next week, so I decided to take a break for a day.  Friday I had great plans to wake up early and run, but we got woken up in the middle of the night by raccoons in our apartment building’s vent system!  Early morning workouts are hard enough for me to get up for on a good night’s sleep.  My only activity on Friday ended up being a softball doubleheader.

Today, I am off to run a couple of miles and then elliptical for a while at the gym, meeting a friend for lunch, and heading to the Taste of Arlington Heights for dinner 🙂

Goal for next week:  do at least 1 early morning workout!

Leave a Reply

