Room for Improvement

Week 2 of Half Marathon training was not the greatest.  I ended up running only 2 times, with ZERO strength or cross training workouts. 😦  I had hoped to work in a run over the weekend too, but got lazy.  Not my best effort at all!

I did try something new, though!  Thursday night I did an adventure run that’s put on each month by Road Runner Sports in Wilmette, IL.  We were given 12 checkpoints around town to try to reach in an hour and received raffle tickets at each site that are put towards fun prizes like running shoes and gift cards.  This month’s theme was football, so I got extra tickets for wearing my Seahawks jersey too!  I didn’t end up winning anything, but I did meet a new running friend!  We’re both doing the Prairie State half marathon, so we’re hoping to run together soon 🙂

When it comes down to it, the biggest thing for me is planning workouts into my day…if it’s not planned well, it won’t happen.  So for week 3 of training I am sharing my workout plan for the week to help me stick to it!

Monday:  Ran 3.25 miles outside (wootwoot!)
Tuesday:  Fitness class at the gym after work
Wednesday:  Fitness class at the gym after work
Thursday:  run 2 miles before work
Friday:  run in downtown Chicago along the lakefront!  (after a work meeting)
Saturday:  elliptical and weights at gym in the morning

How are you staying active this week?

Be-active

Leave a Reply

