Up and At ‘Em!

As we speak, I am roadtripping down to Indianapolis with some friends from college to watch Marquette basketball play at Butler University!  I love traveling to cheer on Marquette, and I’m excited to check out Indianapolis again.  I was there for the 2012 Indy 500 weekend and it was sooo much fun!  I can’t wait to check out the downtown area  to try some yummy food and drinks 🙂  Photo recap coming in the next few days!

Today’s post is all about workout motivation.  I’ve been thinking about this ALOT lately, because I’ve been loving working out lately.  What’s my motivation?

motivation

1.  My new gym.  Last year I belonged to a community fitness center that had fun fitness classes, but the fitness equipment was a little old and everyone who worked out there was at least 30 years older than me, and I just really dreaded going there.  My membership was up at the end of the year, so I joined Fitness 19 in Arlington Heights because my husband and a few of our friends also work out there.

fitness19

Since starting there, I’ve gone every other day to work out, and even though it’s an extra 15 minute commute after work, I haven’t felt that feeling of dread which is awesome!  I even got up before work to run one day, and that NEVER happens.  So I’m pretty happy with the new gym so far, even if they don’t offer fitness classes–just another reason to try out CorePower Yoga and Crossfit classes!

2.  Great Music.  I’ve had some great runs recently and I attribute that to an awesome running playlist.  Do you ever have a song pop up on your iPod, and no matter how tired you are you just want to run/dance/lift like you never have before?  For me, Can’t Hold Us by Macklemore, Timber by Pitbull/Ke$ha, and pretty much anything from Jock Jams (yep, I’ve got a whole CD’s worth on my playlist!)

jockjams

3.  Pinterest.  I’m guilty of spending entirely too much time pinning everything under the sun on Pinterest.  However, when it comes to getting motivated to workout Pinterest is where it’s at!  From motivational images to inspiring quotes to creative workout ideas, Pinterest helps to get me off the couch and doing something active (you know…after I’ve pinned a million things first!)  Here are a few of my favorites recently:

justgo

keepgoing

mjquote

planks happydayyoga burnittoearnit

What motivates you?
What are your pump up songs?
Do you have a favorite fitness motivation pin?

One thought on “Up and At ‘Em!

Leave a Reply

