Thinking Out Loud #1: If we were having coffee….

It’s my first time joining Thinking Out Loud!  Just a heads up, it’s a mixture of light and serious thoughts…just an overview of what’s going on in my head lately 🙂  Luckily, anything can be discussed over coffee, so here we go…

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that I am loving running right now, but am still not doing great with strength training.  Running is coming so easily, which is surprising because it’s only been on the treadmill the past 3 weeks due to crazy cold temperatures and snow piles taking up the sidewalks.  For strength training, I just am not feeling motivated to do it for some reason…and it’s not like I don’t know what to do.  I think I need to either find a buddy to workout with me or sign-up for a class at a local fitness center.  I’ve been thinking about trying out CorePower Yoga…it’s free for the first week!

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that life really isn’t fair sometimes.  My friends’ mom passed away this week after a short battle with cancer.  She was such a fun person and just made everyone laugh.  My heart hurts so much for my friends during this time, and I still just can’t believe that she’s gone.  It’s just a reminder to hold on to the people and things that are truly important in life…and get rid of those that aren’t.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that I’ve been really bad about taking pictures of my food…but my food also hasn’t been very exciting lately so I’m not sure that it would be photo-worthy.  One of my new year’s resolutions is to cook more and eat more cleanly, but I really haven’t been doing either.  So this is my kick in the butt to get going!  I have a list of recipes that I want to make this year (I had to write it out on paper, because my Pinterest boards are really out of control right now), so I will get started tonight!

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that sometimes having a blog can be overwhelming.  It can be tough to think of topics to write, finding time to write, and when I do write sometimes I’m questioning if it’s for me or just trying to gain a bigger audience.  My husband also gets upset when I’m blogging instead of watching TV or hanging out with him, so it’s a struggle to find the time to write and explain why I want to blog.  He feels like he’s not good enough or something, so I must need to find new friends online.  For me though, blogging is a way to motivate myself and hopefully inspire and educate others in living healthy, and meeting new people through blogging is just an added bonus.  I think it will just take some time to find the right balance between regular life and blogging, and I feel like it might mean only posting 3-4 days a week right now (which was my resolution anyways!).

 

How do you find balance between blogging and life?
How are your new year’s resolutions going?

2 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud #1: If we were having coffee….

  1. Finding the balance between blogging and life can definitely be difficult, and even after a couple years of doing it, I -still- find myself getting overwhelmed at times. It helps to have some kind of a set schedule, but to also be flexible enough to not freak out when you have to make changes to that schedule. And prioritizing is KEY. Figure out what’s most important to you, and never sacrifice something more important for something that’s lower on the list.

  2. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud #9: Confessions | The Healthy Adventures of JanaBanana, RD

Leave a Reply

