Birthdays, Sake, and Bridesmaids

Happy Sunday!  Hope you’re having a relaxing weekend!

Friday night we celebrated my sister in law’s birthday with a small party at my in-law’s house.  Every family birthday involves a cake from Jarosch’s bakery–always yellow cake with chocolate frosting! So good….

IMG_0251[1]

Then, I had a nice little Saturday 🙂  Wanted to go to Bed Bath & Beyond, but we just didn’t have enough time haha.

The day started with a 5.5 mile run at the gym…it’s my longest run of the year so far!

IMG_0255[1]

Pretty sure if I had to run the half marathon on the treadmill, I’d be ready for it!  So ready for nicer weather so I can run outside!

Then I made some cheesy eggs with red pepper, and some strawberries on the side.  #nom!

IMG_0256[1]

The afternoon was spent doing bridesmaid activities with my college roommate who’s getting married in September.  All the bridesmaids tried on a bunch of different dresses and were able to settle on one that the bride likes and will be cute and flattering on all of us.  It was like playing dress up and fashion show!  Here’s the dress that we decided on–

bridesmaid dress

After the dress shop, we went to lunch at Kona Grill and I had a Kona chopped salad and white sangria made with sake.

kona chopped salad   White-and-Red-Sangria_lg

(photos from the Kona Grill website, need to get better at remembering to take pictures of my food!)

We chatted alot about the wedding plans and ideas for the bachelorette party…it will either be in Milwaukee or Chicago so if you have any ideas, please share!

Last night, we celebrated our friends’ (they’re twins!) birthdays at H.O.M.E. Bar in Arlington Heights.  It was so fun to see everyone!  I had a few beers and pulled pork sliders…delicious!  (Again, forgot to take a picture–oops!)

This morning, I woke up early because the beer made my stomach hurt–I seriously can’t drink anything without feeling somewhat hungover. #almost30somethingproblems   Since I couldn’t fall back asleep, I finished reading Revenge Wears Prada (sequel to Devil Wears Prada) which was really good.  It’s a continuation of the story 10 years later, and definitely has a more mature storyline.  Worth the read!

IMG_0247[1]

This afternoon we went to the funeral for my friends’ mom who passed away last weekend.  The funeral home could barely contain all of the people who showed up for the service.  It was so special, and I’m happy that we could be there to laugh and cry with our friends as they said goodbye to their mom.  She was an awesome lady and will be missed dearly!

For tonight, the plan is to head out to watch a friend’s hockey game at a local ice rink, and then prepare for the severe cold that’s about to set it….tomorrow’s high is -4 degrees F!  Definitely going to be bundling up!

How was your weekend?
What’s your favorite bachelorette party activity?

Leave a Reply

