Thinking Out Loud #2: If we were having coffee…

Today I’m linking up again with Running with Spoons for Thinking Out Loud, If we were having coffee–style 🙂

If we were having coffee…I would tell you I am SUPER excited for the Olympics!!!!  Like I will probably spend the majority of my time over the next two and a half weeks watching them.  I just can’t get enough of the Olympics, and just started a Pinterest Board to share my love!  (Side note:  can you believe the hotel room situation for the athletes in Sochi?!?!  Can’t wait to hear their stories!)

sochi

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that I’ve been thinking alot lately about what I believe.  I was very involved at my church growing up and also got involved in Lutheran Campus Ministry in college, but since becoming a member at a local church after moving to Chicago, I feel like it has all just activities before and now I am not really sure what I believe.  The youth group retreat over the weekend really got me thinking…I feel like I’ve just kind of let my faith fall by the wayside as a “grown up”; even though I am an active volunteer with the youth at my church, I don’t regularly attend church, read my Bible, or pray.  I’m making a conscious effort to do all three things more often, starting now!

prayer

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that my husband and I are starting to seriously look for houses to buy!  It’s all so exciting, and this weekend we are going to go out to look at a couple of houses we like.  Wish us luck!

house

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that I attended a seminar last night hosted by the Chicago Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics and presented by the Greater Chicago Food Depository (GCFD) on food insecurity in Chicago.  Food insecurity means that a person doesn’t know when or where their next meal may will be, and it can be a one time or constant concern for a person.  Even though I’ve learned alot working on the community health side of nutrition, I learned alot at the seminar as well…

  • Did you know that 1 in 5 people in the Chicago area use food banks?!?
  • Or that only 44% of the people who use the GCFD also use SNAP (aka Food Stamps), because of the stigma of or confusion around food stamps, even though they could use the benefits.
  • The GCFD gives out 70% more food now than it did when the recession began 6 years ago.
  • 37% of clients served are children under the age of 18
  • GCFD buys 1/3 of the food given out, and also works with local farms to ensure that fresh produce, meat, and dairy are available at their distribution sites.

    It was pretty eye opening, and I encourage you to donate food, money, or time at your local food bank to help #endhunger!

endhungernow

4 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud #2: If we were having coffee…

  1. Oh wow… those food bank statistics are pretty staggering. I’m not sure what they’re like in my area, but it’s heartbreaking to think that with how “advanced” our society has become, there are more and more people out there who can’t even afford to properly nourish themselves 😦 As for getting back in touch with your faith, have you considered a devotional? I’ve been starting my day with a reading from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young, and I really, really love it.

  2. Good luck with the house hunt! We just did that this past spring. Thanks for sharing the food bank statistics. I’ve been looking for volunteer opportunities in our community and I’d love to work with a food bank or pantry in our area. I don’t think people realize how many of our neighbors are hungry… it’s not just people in undeveloped countries.

  3. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud #9: Confessions | The Healthy Adventures of JanaBanana, RD

Leave a Reply

