Let the Training Begin!

This week starts my training for the Indy 500 Festival Mini-Marathon!  I’ve been running 3 times a week consistently since the holidays, so I’m hoping that has set me up for success as the training begins 🙂  I was hoping to run a half marathon over St. Patrick’s Day weekend, but it doesn’t look like it will fit in the budget right now.  womp womp.

indy500half

oneamerica-500-festival-minimarathon-89

There are tons of training plans out there, and I’ve chosen to go with the Runners’ World Smart Coach plan.  It’s pretty cool!  All you have to do is fill in some information about your past running accomplishments and what you are willing to do for training, and it will give you a training calendar based on the time available.  (Disclaimer:  I’m not affiliated with or sponsored by Runners’ World, just really like this website and wanted to share!)

Here’s this week’s schedule:

Tuesday:  3 easy miles

Wednesday:  5 mile tempo run

Thursday:  elliptical & personal training session

Friday:  3 easy miles

Saturday:  6 mile long run

Sunday:  elliptical/bike & strength

Total:  17 miles

I recently joined a new gym, and membership includes a fitness assessment and personal training session.  Last Saturday I met with a trainer for the assessment, where I did a cardio test on a recumbent bike, an overhead squat test, and balanced on a Bosu ball while doing one-legged squats…very shakily!

The trainer is also into running, and she recommended that I do some planks, squats, and flexibility exercises to help improve my running.  I meet with her again this Thursday for a full training session.  Can’t wait!

What training plans have you used?
What’s your favorite activity/exercise to improve running performance?

Leave a Reply

