My Gooey Valentine Baking Adventure

For Valentine’s Day, my husband asked for me to make him something peanut buttery and chocolate-y.  The majority of the time when I make something sweet, I end up taking it to work or to a party to share so that it’s not sitting at home staring at me and saying “Eat me!”  But for Valentine’s Day, since hubby asked so nicely, I made an exception and we have this amazing creation sitting on the counter…

IMG_0367[1]

Okay, so maybe it’s not quite the masterpiece that the original is, but I’m pretty proud of it! (click on picture below for original recipe)

Reeses-Gooey-Cake-Bars-title

Here’s my adventure in baking:

IMG_0360[1]

I started with these ingredients…

IMG_0363[1]

I sprayed the pan with Pam for Baking and preheated the oven to 350 degrees.  I also realized that I should have been freezing the Reese’s PB cup since like yesterday, so I popped those in the freezer and wished cold thoughts on them.

IMG_0361[1]

 

Mixed together the cake mix, 1 stick of butter, 1 egg, and a teaspoon of vanilla.  I used a handheld mixer to mix, but nothing was really happening and it was a dusty mess.  That’s when I decided to dig in and mix it with my hands.   Not sure if it was just the cake mix that I used, but the dough was extremely sticky and not quite what I was expecting.  Also not quite as much as I thought it would be.

IMG_0364[1]

I took half of the dough and spread it across the bottom of a 9×9 pan (didn’t have an 8×8 one like the recipe called for), and it really took some time to get it to spread out.  The PB cups were in the freezer for about 15-20 minutes by this point, so I crossed my fingers and placed them on top of the dough.

IMG_0365[1]

The next step was a little tricky.  I had to spread the other half of the dough over the PB cups and it wasn’t the most spreadable texture.  So I broke the remaining dough into 4 pieces and tried to flatten it by hand and then spread it across each quarter of the pan the best that I could.  It wasn’t the prettiest thing, but it was about to be layered again anyways.

IMG_0366[1]

Finally, I drizzled some fat-free sweetened condensed milk over the top of the 2nd layer of dough, then poured the Reese’s Pieces over the top.  It baked for about half an hour and was super gooey when I took it out.  I made it yesterday afternoon and let it sit out so that it would set up a little more while we went out for our Valentine’s date (dinner and a movie).  We hurried home afterwards and enjoyed a piece before bedtime.

IMG_0372[1]

It was kind of a tricky recipe, but definitely worth it! #Nom!

What did you do for Valentine’s Day?

2 thoughts on “My Gooey Valentine Baking Adventure

  1. Pingback: MIMM #2: Weekend with my Valentine | The Healthy Adventures of JanaBanana, RD

  2. Pingback: Five Things Friday #6: February Recap! | The Healthy Adventures of JanaBanana, RD

Leave a Reply

