MIMM #2: Weekend with my Valentine

Hope you all had a great weekend!  Mine has been Marvelous 🙂

mimm

It started out with a half day at work on Friday.  Leaving early is always exciting!  I headed to the grocery store to pick up the last few ingredients for the Reese’s Gooey Cake Bars that I made for my husband’s Valentine’s Day present.  I spent the rest of the afternoon reading, napping, and making the gooey cake bars.

My husband returned from a business trip to Indianapolis just in time for our dinner reservations at Jameson’s Charhouse.  Even with the reservation, we had to wait an extra 45 minutes to get seated.  Needless to say, I was definitely ready to eat…and drink!

IMG_0368[1]

I started with a Tiramisu martini (with Rumchata…yummmmm).  Apparently the ladies at the table behind me were appalled that I was taking pictures of my food and drinks. Psh.

IMG_0369[1]

We got bread, soup and salad to start, then I ordered chicken stuffed with spinach and feta cheese with asparagus, and a side of mashed sweet potatoes (looked like baby food but tasted ah-mazing!).  I got a glass of white zinfandel with dinner too.  We left pleasantly full 🙂

For the 2nd part of the date we headed to the movies to see The Monuments Men.  It was pretty good, but mainly because of the cast.  Love Matt Damon and George Clooney!

monumentsmen

After the movie we hurried home to eat the gooey cake bars…nom!  My Valentine’s day gift from the husband was a gift card for Yankee Candle…sooooo excited to stock up on some yummy scented candles!

IMG_0372[1]

Saturday we ran 6 miles together (errr…on treadmills next to each other) at the gym and watched the skeleton event while we ran.  Having the Olympics on makes running go by so much faster!  This was my longest run of the year, and it was the first time that I had to restart the treadmill when I had been running almost an hour…only to find out that I was on the one treadmill at the gym that has the marathon setting where you can set it for over an hour.  Oops!

IMG_0374[1]IMG_0375[1]

(a little blurry but it was 6.04 miles total in 1 hour 2 minutes! Very happy about it.)

Then we headed up to Milwaukee for National Marquette Day and to watch Marquette play Xavier.  This hasn’t been Marquette’s best season, so at least they won for National Marquette day (basically Marquette’s version of homecoming weekend)!  After the game we went to dinner with some friends at Harry’s Bar & Grill.  I tried the Sprecher Gold Ale and ordered edamame falalel in a pita for the meal…AWESOME.  (no picture, didn’t want to offend fellow diners)

On Sunday, the husband headed back to Indianapolis for work, so I curled up on the couch to catch up on Downton Abbey and read lots in my book.  Still truckin’ along in 11/22/63 by Stephen King.  It’s really good, but it’s 850 pages and taking me forever to read!  I also posted this yesterday in honor of National Almond Day!

IMG_0267[1]

Today, I have the day off of work for Presidents’ day, and I’m enjoying another relaxing day.  We’re supposed to get another 3-6 inches of snow throughout today, so that will determine what I end up doing today, but the plan right now is

a 3 mile treadmill run at the gym

Bed Bath & Beyond trip (still using gift cards from our wedding!)

grocery shopping

more reading (so determined to finish the book this weekend!)

So that was my Marvelous weekend…how was yours?

Check out my other link-up posts for Marvelous in My Monday:
MIMM #1 

One thought on “MIMM #2: Weekend with my Valentine

Leave a Reply

