WIAW #5: Andes Mint Chip Cookie Recipe

Here’s what I’ve been eating this week!

IMG_0406[1](Summer in a bottle!  I had this over the weekend, and it was wonderful!)

IMG_0407[1](I won these restaurant gift certificates at a Special Olympics fundraiser over the weekend!  So excited to use them up!)


Over the weekend I also made Andes Mint Chip Cookies for a family girls’ night.  They are, hands down, my favorite kind of cookie!

Here’s how I make them:

I pretty much followed the recipe from the bag of Andes Mint Chips (which you can find by the chocolate chips in the baking aisle of the grocery store).

IMG_0404[1]

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 (10 oz) bag Andes mint baking chips

Step #1:  Combine butter and both sugars, then beat until light and fluffy.

Step #2:  Add the vanilla and eggs, and mix well.

Step #3:  In a separate bowl , mix together the baking soda and powder, salt, and flour, then add to the butter mixture until fully combined. Now  mix in Andes baking chips.

**Fun Fact…if you don’t have baking soda, you can substitute baking powder!  (I found out the hard way!) Just multiply the amount of baking soda by 2-3x to figure out how much baking powder to use, then eliminate the recommended salt.

Step #4:  Preheat oven to 350 (Or you can wait until the dough has chilled for a bit.)

Step #5:  Refrigerate dough for an hour, then form dough into balls and place on baking sheet.  The recipe said it made 48 cookies, but I only got 30 out of it…I like BIG cookies!  Also, the dough was pretty sticky, so it was best to roll the dough with my hands.

Step #6:  Bake the cookies for 8 – 9 minutes.  I like to take them out around 8 minutes when they aren’t quite set yet, and then let them cool.  The result is a super soft cookie and pure deliciousness!

andesmintcookies(I just love my KitchenAid!)

What’s your favorite cookie recipe?

Other What I Ate Wednesday posts:
WIAW #4:  Grocery Shopping & Stirfry Recipe
WIAW #3: Valentine’s Day Edition
WIAW #2:  It’s All About Balance
WIAW#1:  Super Bowl Style!

what i ate wednesday

4 thoughts on “WIAW #5: Andes Mint Chip Cookie Recipe

  1. Pingback: Five Things Friday #6: February Recap! | The Healthy Adventures of JanaBanana, RD

  2. Pingback: My First Blogiversary! | The Healthy Adventures of JanaBanana, RD

Leave a Reply

