What I Ate Wednesday: Mardi Gras Style!

So I’m sure most of you are aware, but today is Ash Wednesday….the first day of Lent!  Mardi Gras/Fat Tuesday and indulging are over, womp womp.  Lent is a time of preparation before Easter, and it’s popularly known as a time of giving things up.  Every year, I usually give up something (ie. chocolate) and as I’ve gotten older, I have tried adding something too.  I think of Lent as a time to work towards being a better person (more Christ-like if you follow Christianity).

This year I am giving up sweets (here’s a post about my recent sweet tooth) and adding strength/yoga each week as well as a devotion/reflection/prayer time each day.  I’ll try to share my thoughts as we progress through the Lenten season.

Anywho, for What I Ate Wednesday,

what i ate wednesday

here’s a yummy meal I ate for “Fat Tuesday”…

IMG_0417[1]

 

If you follow me on Instagram, you saw my awesome Fat Tuesday splurge lunch at Whole Foods yesterday!  The meal was actually fairly healthy but probably a little too much quantity.  Cajun and plain roasted sweet potatoes…I could eat them ALL DAY!  And then I ate the red velvet cupcake, even though I was stuffed, since it was my last sweet treat before Lent begins.

So here we go, Lent!  Here’s to being a better, more balanced person.  At least for the next 40 days 🙂

Do you give anything up for Lent?
Adding anything instead?
How did you celebrate Fat Tuesday?

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday: Mardi Gras Style!

Leave a Reply

