Thinking Out Loud #8: Lots o’ Running & I’m Famous!

It’s my weekend!  I’m taking a 4 day weekend to hang out with friends in Milwaukee and watch the first and 2nd rounds of March Madness! I’ll share all of our adventures with you all soon!  For today I’m sharing my randomness with Thinking Out Loud!

Yesterday I signed up for the Dam to Dam half marathon in Des Moines, Iowa on May 31st.  It will be my 2nd one in May…I’m also running the Indy 500 Festival Mini Marathon on May 4th.  The Dam to Dam race will be with a bunch of friends so I’m really looking forward to it.  Although I have heard it is VERY hilly, so I’m a little nervous!

runhills
(
Do I have to?!?!)

Lots of excitement happened yesterday!  I also signed up for the Bank of America Chicago Marathon lottery!  The marathon has gotten so popular that they now have to randomly select the people who can compete, unless you’ve run it for at least 5 years in a row or are speedy and meet an elite time requirement.  I’m neither of those, but I am still so excited for the chance to run it.  And it will be my first marathon…so nervous!  Even if I don’t get selected, I will find another fall marathon to run.  It’s been on my bucket list, and I feel like this is the year!

chicagomarathon

In related news, a reporter saw my excited/nervous tweet about signing up for the marathon lottery and asked to interview me!  Here’s the link to the article.  I’m famous!

Back to March Madness…I am so excited to watch Michigan play in Milwaukee!  I fill out a bracket every year, and this time around I have Michigan going to the National Championship Game (but losing to Florida–I’m okay if I’m wrong about that one!).

I started Insurgent (book #2 of the Divergent series) and I’m hooked again!  I can’t wait to see the movie, I just have to find the time!

Also, I found the charger cable for my kindle so I can finish reading The Fault in Our Stars!  #technologyproblems #nomore

Do you fill out a bracket for March Madness?  
Who are you cheering for?  Michigan all the way!  I’m so sad, though, that my first love Marquette wasn’t even selected to play in the tournament. smh
Are you running any half marathons or full marathons this year?
Have you ever been in the newspaper?

6 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud #8: Lots o’ Running & I’m Famous!

  1. No marathons on my schedule this year since I’m kind of just getting into running and don’t want to bite off more than I can chew. BUT I’m hoping to sign up for a 5k or two to give myself a little more motivation in the running department. now if only the weather would cooperate and it would stop snowing…

  2. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud #9: Confessions | The Healthy Adventures of JanaBanana, RD

Leave a Reply

