Fun in the Sun!

It has officially been over 2 weeks since I last posted…It’s been a super busy around here!

Since I last updated the blog, we closed on our house, spent 4 days in Florida, drove to Indianapolis for a weekend where we ran a half marathon, and started fixing up our house before we move in.

I’ll share the details on everything soon, but today I’m focusing on our marvelous trip to Bonita Springs, Florida, with some of our best friends from college 🙂

PALM TREES!

IMG_0595[1]

We stayed at a family friend’s condo, so we dropped off our luggage and headed out to Publix for some things for breakfasts and lunches for the week.

IMG_0596[1]

After some pool time and hanging out on the lanai (fancy word for screened-in balcony), we headed out to Doc’s Beach House for some dinner.

IMG_0600[1]

The restaurant is right on the beach and had lots of personality.  They also had tons of Chicago sports memorabilia!

IMG_0597[1]

I’m not a huge fan of seafood, but I can definitely handle the fresh fish sticks!  Delish!

IMG_0599[1]

The next morning, I enjoyed this view on a 4 mile run…it was already 80 degrees at 8am!  Sooooo humid!

IMG_0602[1]

After a few hours at the beach, we headed to “downtown” Fort Myers Beach, where we found Yucatan Bar & Grill–A great place to watch the Blackhawks game!  It was open-air and made you feel like you were in the Caribbean!

IMG_0603[1]

We took a shot of Patron before the game for good luck…it’s tradition!

IMG_0605[1]

Let’s Go, Hawks!

IMG_0607[1]

I ordered the Yucatan Rum Punch and I watched the bartender pour at least a shot each of 3 kinds of rum, and a splash of juice on top.  I made sure to take my time drinking this one!

IMG_0610[1]

Next we headed to Nervous Nellies for dinner.  Such a HUGE menu, it took all of us forever to choose what to eat!  Fun fact:  they offer gator bites!  Tastes like chicken.

IMG_0612[1]

I finally decided on chicken and steak fajitas with black beans and rice.  Totally hit the spot 🙂

IMG_0616[1]

Later, we walked to Beach Pierside Grill for a couple of drinks.

IMG_0618[1]

And we sat in a GIANT chair!

IMG_0620[1]

We ended the night at Kilwin’s for ice cream.  I asked for a scoop of cake batter and Moose tracks, and this is what I got….

IMG_0621[1]

4 scoops!  With a cake cone!  I had to recruit my friends to finish this off!

Here’s what I did most of the 2nd full day in Florida…

IMG_0624[1]

Lots of sitting on the beach, reading magazines, and playing in the waves!

For dinner, we went out to a fancy restaurant in Naples called Bayside Grill.  They didn’t allow phones or photography in the dining room, which is really unfortunate because the food was unbelievable!  We ordered a bottle of riesling for the table to share, and I ordered Mahi Mahi crusted with Asian spices on a bed of zucchini strings for dinner then a slice of Key Lime pie for dessert.  So disappointed that I couldn’t take pictures!

Our last day there, we had a late flight so we checked out Sanibel Island.  We didn’t venture too far, but we found a cute shopping center with lots of souvenirs and a restaurant called the Blue Giraffe.

IMG_0627[1]

With lunch, I enjoyed this frozen margarita,

IMG_0628[1]

and taco salad with BBQ pulled pork.  Super filling!

IMG_0629[1]

And then it was time to head home to Chicago 😦

IMG_0630[1]

The weather in Florida was AMAZING!  It was sunny and 90 everyday, and it didn’t rain until we were in the airport waiting for our flight home!  We will definitely be going back someday–I highly recommend vacationing in the Bonita Springs/Fort Myers/Sanibel area!

Where’s your favorite vacation spot?

Any trips planned this summer?

 

 

One thought on “Fun in the Sun!

Leave a Reply

