Lessons Learned from the Advocare Challenge

Check out yesterday’s post for my review of the Advocare 10 Day Cleanse.

Today I am sharing the lessons learned during the 10 day Cleanse:

  • I don’t need 2+ cups of coffee to start the day.  The Spark energy drink has the same amount of caffeine as 1/3 cup of coffee, and while drinking 1 each morning, I didn’t have any headaches!  Not sure what I will do once my supply of Spark is gone, though.
  • I don’t get tired as easily as before.  Most likely due to drinking lots more water than normal, and being less addicted to caffeine.
  • Eating healthy can take more time and planning, but it’s worth it.  I meal planned, made a grocery list, and prepared a few meals.  It feels awesome to be eating cleaner 🙂
  • Drinking the recommended 64 ounces of water is not too hard.  Maybe it’s due to the hot weather lately, but I have been chugging down 9-10 glasses daily.
  • I don’t need an evening snack…I was most likely just snacking out of boredom.  Or I was dehydrated and mistaking thirst for hunger.
  • Meals don’t have to be centered around grains.  Pasta and bread are my “go-to” foods when I think about preparing a meal, and this challenge helped me to broaden my horizons.
  • I also have gotten out of a food rut–instead of eating the same things each week, I’ve been making a variety of meals.  I made an eggs and broccoli scramble, roasted vegetables for the first time, prepared a giant pot of “taco” lentils, tried almond milk, and made baked oatmeal.

I took my measurements before and after the challenge.  Sites included:  around shoulders, bust, biceps, waist, hips, thighs, and calves.  I don’t have a scale at home, so I didn’t track my weight.

  • Before the challenge:  195.2 inches
  • After the challenge: 189.6 inches
  • Total Loss:  5.6 inches!

Better than any measurements, though, I feel really good.  And I had been wearing size 10 jeans, and some of my size 8 jeans fit now. Super exciting…just the motivation I needed to start healthier habits for the summer!

2 thoughts on “Lessons Learned from the Advocare Challenge

Leave a Reply

