WIAW: Orlando & Nashville road trip edition

Over an extended Veteran’s Day weekend, my husband and I road-tripped from Chicago to Orlando for a friend’s wedding, then stayed in Nashville for a couple of days on the trip home.  Here’s what we ate along the way…

We drove straight through the night on our way south, so we were definitely ready for a good meal by the time we got to Valdosta, Georgia.  We stopped at Waffle House, since it’s pretty much a requirement when we are near one!  I had a chocolate chip waffle, hashbrowns (chopped & smothered), and coffee.  It hit the spot!

 waffle house valdosta georgia breakfast of champions titletown usa

Our next regular meal was later that night after we had gotten settled at our hotel in Orlando.  We wanted to fit in a trip to Disney during our short stay, so we compromised by checking out Downtown Disney.  It’s kind of like an outdoor mall, with tons of restaurants, and lots of street entertainment.  All of the restaurants had a long wait, since it was 7pm on a Friday, and we decided to try out Raglan Road.  It’s an Irish restaurant, with great Irish music and dancers!  For my beverage, I chose a sangria made with cider beer, Peach Schnapps, and fruit juices/liqueurs–delicious!
downtown disney irish restaurant sangria raglan road orlando

For my entree, I got the shepherd’s pie, which I get pretty much every time that I eat at an Irish restaurant.  It was everything I hoped it would be 🙂

downtown disney irish restaurant shepherds pie raglan road orlando
downtown disney irish restaurant dancing raglan road orlando

The next day between my friend’s wedding ceremony and the reception, my husband and I tried out Brick House Tavern & Tap.  I got the Fiery Apple Cider (Angry Orchard cider and Fireball) and we split a couple of appetizers–Drunken Pork Meatballs and Kobe Brick Pizza.

fiery apple cider angry balls Brick house tavern and tap orlando

Reception time!  This was the adorable cake topper!  The groom went to University of Florida and the bride graduated from Georgetown University.

 wedding cake topper florida georgetown

For the favors, they had a candy bar with little boxes to take home with us.  I loaded up on Swedish fish!wedding favor candy bar orlando
They also had a choice of cupcakes–we had the peanut butter & chocolate and the red velvet.  YUM!wedding cupcakes red velvet orlando peanut butter chocolate

The day after the wedding, we headed up to Nashville.  For dinner we stopped at Rippy’s Bar and Grill on Broadway.  It was pretty crowded, but had great live country music!  I had the pulled chicken sandwich with curly fries.  I also had a drink called the Velvet Elvis…I watched the bartender pour at least 3 shots of whiskey in while she was making it!  Definitely a sipper!

rippys nashville pulled chicken bbq

The next morning we checked out Puckett’s Grocery & Restaurant in downtown Nashville.  It had lots of locally sourced foods and a very southern-themed menu.

pucketts grocery and restaurant nashville
I chose “The King” French Toast…French toast with peanut butter and bananas, along with a side of home fries.  I left with a happy tummy!nashville breakfast the king french toast pucketts grocery

We ate lunch at Broadway Brewhouse.  The food wasn’t anything special, but they had a great variety of beers!

Later that night, we went out for drinks at The Flying Saucer, which has a wall of taps with an extensive beer menu.  You can join a club there to attempt to try all of the beers, and you can earn a spot on the Ring of Honor wall if you drink a certain number of them.  I tried a peach beer, which was good but filled me up too much to try any others.  flying saucer nashville

flying saucer wall of taps nashville beer

By the time we made it to the Broadway bar district, alot of the bars had stopped serving food.  We ended up at Tin Roof, and I got the All Day Breakfast burrito.  I was starving, and it definitely filled me up!

tin roof bar nashville

Where is your favorite place to eat in Nashville or Orlando?
Do you have a favorite place to eat at during road trips?

4 thoughts on “WIAW: Orlando & Nashville road trip edition

  1. Pingback: Road Trip Recap: Nashville Edition | JanaBanana, RD

  2. Pingback: Roadtrip Recap: Orlando edition | JanaBanana, RD

Leave a Reply

